The Hunting Lodge

Recently, HordeReview interviewed the blog-master (Brigwyn) of The Hunter Lodge (It’s now defunct) and we found some rather interesting comments on WoW’s current (and future) paths.

Here are the highlights.

A: You mentioned how, back in Vanilla, the raids required “strategy” and not just memorizing where to stand and when to move, (or mindless AOEing in the case of dungeons). Is there anything else you feel that the game is missing nowadays that it really had a handle on back then?
(Brigwyn): LOL yeah. there’s a ton of stuff I personally miss. But those are what Daewin (Brigwyn’s cohost on The Hunting Lodge) and others call my PawPaw Brig moments lol.The game changes that I miss are things that a majority of players even from Vanilla will probably say are okay that they’re gone. But there’s a few that I think are missed and in some ways take away from the “specialness”. For example. In Vanilla if you were bored and didn’t have anything to do. You’d start spamming /Gen /Trade and start setting up for World Bosses. Those were truly epic.
A: Even in BC, you rarely saw people going for Doom Lord Kazzak or Doomwalker

Brigwyn: I’d have to say BC was the "Golden Age" of raiding

B: Yeah! Those types of things helped create a “community” feel on your sever. The other thing I think Blizz erred in removing were the random elites. These special “non-boss” bosses could spawn just about every/anywhere.

A:  People sure seem to remember Vanilla very well, every time they talk about any change to raiding
B: Yeah. that’s mostly because there were 2 very distinct players in Vanilla. You were Normal or Hardcore. There really wasn’t a “Casual” type player back then. The hardcore were raiders from the old EQ or other MMO’s and the “Normal” were just that. Normal people that loved to play games. Casual became something more at the end of Vanilla as more and more people started raiding. Then you had hardcore raiders (these were the guys on ALL the time and had the Epics/Legendaries) and the “Casuals” those that raided but didn’t play as much
A: Well, I haven’t been playing since Vanilla, but that’s certainly the impression I get too, just from hearing others talk about it. I dunno, I kind of like the fact that you can be in the middle somewhere and still see a good amount of content.
B: I’d have to say BC was the “Golden Age” of raiding really. For Hunters it was a horrible time, but all expansions are “horrible” for hunters. lol

A: So many people complain about gearscore specifically, and yet they all continue to enable it. I can’t sit for 10 minutes in trade without seeing “5800 GS Hunter LFG xxxx” or something of the sort.The community aspect of the game, even from when I first started playing, isn’t the same as it used to be. Attach a number to your name, and you can just kind of get what you want.

B: ROFL! Yeah. I remember when we interviewed Arcaknight (sp?) the developer of GS and talked to him about how his addon was being misused. He admitted that he probably shouldn’t have used that name but it stuck.But the more important part is what you’re mentioning. He didn’t think people would focus on the GS number as much as they are.

A: Hah. I’ll admit, I didn’t even know that. But doesn’t that sort of take away from the fact that so much of this game can be done by yourself? I’m sure that’s something that does appeal to a lot of players.
B: But it’s an MMO-RPG right? And MMO stands for Massive MULTI-PLAYER Online. Again that brings me back to how the game has changed for the console players. See back in Vanilla there were several “basic” quests you were forced to group up on. Ask anyone from back in the day that tried to make the run through the wetlands at level, they’ll tell you the murlocs and the stealth crocolisks were He**: but you got to meet people, and help each other out. It was all fun. Today, it’s all about “powerlevel” to 80 and raid. People don’t even explore the world for the most part until AFTER they reach max level it seems.

A: So you think Blizzard, by selling virtual items for real money, is in essence okaying gold selling?
B: Well let me put it this way.. What’s the difference between $25 for gold, $25 for loot codes, or $25 Sparkle pony? They’re all just stuff in the game that helps you play. Gold allows you to buy ingame stuff faster, Loot codes are special items, but they can also be “traded” for gold in game. The same can be said for any virtual good. Pets, etc.. Once I got the code. I can then “sell” it for the cash value or maybe a little less?

A: (On server forums and strat. websites) you’re going to see some of the same names on a regular basis.  But like myself for example. I consider myself “middle of the road” between casual and hardcore. I’m about 6/12 in ICC normal mode. I’d like to kill Arthas before Cataclsym goes live, but if I don’t, it’s no biggie really. But I am also trying to sorta, get myself out there among the community. Not because i’m a part of the creme de la creme, but because I think I have something to say that others want to hear.
B: Maybe this is more of the “old timer” mentality of being around the block too many times but have noticed in the grand scheme of things. Ask people what is more important to them individually. The gold in their bank or the “progress” of their guild and they’ll typically say guild. That’s because gold is easy to get in game now, but progression isn’t. Which brings us back to your question. Is the game too easy? lol Not as easy as earning gold.

The full interview can be found here… and (part 2) here!

Grats HR for a good interview!

